HRC Ledger
Opportunity

Notice of Intent to Sole Source - Lab Supplies (Blood) Altoona VA Medical Center, Altoona, PA

Response due

October 16, 2026

Agency
244-NETWORK Contract Office 4 (36C244)
Estimated value
Not stated
NOTICE OF INTENT TO AWARD SOLE SOURCE: The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Regional Procurement Office East (RPOE), Network Contracting Office 4 (NCO 4) intends to award a sole source contract pursuant to RFO FAR 6.103-1 to The American National Red Cross, located at 250 Jari Drive, Johnstown, PA 15904. Simplified acquisition procedures will be used, and the resulting contract will be firm priced for a five-year period. The Altoona VA Medical Center requires a contractor to provide blood/blood products necessary for transfusions and ancillary testing services. This service shall be provided for the Department of Veterans Affairs, Altoona VA Medical Center, located at 2907 Pleasant Valley Boulevard, Altoona, PA 16602. Based on geographical location, The American National Red Cross is the only source that can meet the Altoona VA Medical Center s requirement for delivery of FDA regulated blood/blood products and services within one hour of notification for emergent patient use. Line Item Number Description Quantity Unit 1 Red Blood Cells 168 EA 2 O Negative Surcharge 30 EA 3 PR Platelets 11 EA 4 LVDS Platelets 5 EA 5 Plasma 1 EA 6 AB Plasma Surcharge 1 EA 7 Irradiation Fee 4 EA 8 Degylced Fee 1 EA 9 Frozen Fee 1 EA 10 Expedited (STAT) Processing Fee 1 EA 11 Unscheduled Shipping Charge 1 EA 12 Reference Lab Charges 1 EA THIS NOTICE IS NOT A REQUEST FOR COMPETITIVE QUOTES; however, any responsible firm that believes it can meet the requirement shall give written notification and capability statements prior to the response due date and time. Vendors shall indicate if they are the direct supplier or service provider of the items and/or authorized reseller/distributor. Supporting evidence shall be furnished in sufficient detail to demonstrate the ability to perform the requirement and shall include relevant experience along with the applicable contract number(s), total contract dollar amount, contract period of performance, details of the relevant supply and/or services, and customer point of contact with corresponding telephone number and email address. Responses shall include following information: 1. Company Name 2. SAM UEI Number 3. Company s Address 4. Point of Contact Information (title, phone number and email address) 5. Business Size Responses received will be evaluated; however, a determination by the Government not to compete the proposed procurement based on responses to this notice is solely within the discretion of the Government. Information provided will not be returned. Responses are due by Friday, 10/16/2026 at 8:00 AM Eastern Standard Time. No submissions will be accepted after this date and time. Responses shall be submitted via email to Mrs. Mickeya Linzie at mickeya.linzie@va.gov. The NAICS code for this acquisition is 621991 (Blood and Organ Banks) and the size standard is $40 million.

Key dates

Posted
October 6, 2026
Response due
October 16, 2026

Organization

NETWORK CONTRACT OFFICE 4

Buying history

  • Records308 total
  • Opportunities / awards4 / 205
  • Value range$0 – $12,861,206
  • ActiveJune 25, 2026 – October 26, 2026

What they buy

  • Clinical (267)
  • Administrative (41)

Set-asides used

  • No Set aside used (33)
  • Small Business Set Aside - Total (22)
  • SDVOSB Set-Aside (FAR 19.14) (18)
  • 8(a) Sole Source (FAR 19.8) (1)

Who holds their work today

  1. VALOR HEALTHCARE INC19 wins · $65,352,023 · last September 1, 2026
  2. LABORATORY CORPORATION OF AMERICA13 wins · $16,853,530 · last March 1, 2026
  3. BATTLE'S TRANSPORTATION, INC.1 win · $12,861,206 · last September 24, 2026
  4. CENTER FOR ORGAN RECOVERY & EDUCATION11 wins · $10,373,967 · last September 29, 2026
  5. STG INTERNATIONAL, INC.2 wins · $7,460,862 · last December 1, 2025

Also open from this buyer

View source document →

Source link on sam.gov.

Source record

Buyer type
Federal
Jurisdiction
Federal (US)
Category
Clinical
Set-aside
Not stated
NAICS
621991
PSC
6506